Studying God's Word (grades K-7)

Studying God's Word

Studying God's Word is a non-denominational Bible study series targeting kindergarten through seventh grade.

Book A features faithful retellings of some of the most important Bible stories from both Old and New Testaments using language suitable for young children. Comprehension questions are included after most of the stories.

Book B focuses on Bible doctrine at a level appropriate for young learners. Each week's lesson is introduced in catechism format with one or more doctrinal questions and answers. Throughout the week parents read related Scriptures with their children, help them complete fill-in-the-blank exercises, and direct the weekly activity (craft, game, coloring, crossword, or object lesson).

Book B seems to take a more serious, purposeful approach than does Book C. Book C uses stories from the Old Testament to illustrate basic truths. The text of each lesson may be read by or to the child. The lesson text is followed by a page or pages with fill-in-the-blanks, coloring, cut-and-paste work, mazes, matching, and other traditional workbook activities. The font is appropriately large for young eyes. An inexpensive teacher's manual/answer key is also available beginning with Book C.

Book D is subtitled, "Exploring the Truths of the Life of Christ for the Young Reader." Like Book C, instead of following a chronological presentation, it is foundational in coverage. It uses stories from the life of Christ to illustrate basic truths and doctrine. Readings are all from the gospels. There are some cut-and-paste activities, but more written work--filling in the blanks, crosswords, word searches, matching exercises--than in Book C. Because of the interests and attention spans of young learners, books A through D do not follow the comprehensive chronological approach we find in books E-H but instead offer Bible study via different approaches in each book.

The remaining books use a chronological approach. Book E covers from Genesis to Ruth, Book F covers First Samuel to Malachi, Book G covers the message and ministry of Jesus Christ, and Book H studies the Book of Acts.

The books of the Bible are taught chronologically rather than in the order they appear in the Bible. For instance, when studying through the books of Kings, lessons from other Biblical books that correlate are inserted in their proper places.

I almost hate to list this series under "curriculum" because the emphasis is on the Bible more than in typical curricula. Lessons reinforce Bible knowledge rather than developing slightly connected topics as do many so-called Bible curriculum lessons. The historical books are given more attention because the goal is to get the overview of God's plan as I recommend when I talk about how we should best approach Bible study for children.

A Scripture passage(or passages), lesson goal, and a memory verse are listed at the beginning of each lesson along with a small timeline to help us place events in context. This is followed by background and explanatory information, then questions that require both recall and thinking. Thought questions prompt students to apply Scripture to their lives. Supplemental exercises (crosswords, word searches, mazes, etc.) are included after many of the lessons. Constant references to a timeline help students to keep the "big picture" in sight. Unit tests are also in the student book.

The publisher, Christian Liberty Press sells very inexpensive and very brief Teacher's Manuals for most levels. The few pages of introduction in each manual are essential reading. The remainder is your answer key.

Although each course is recommended for a grade level, they need not be limited to those levels. Books A through D are the most limited because of the younger style activities, but the other courses can be used across much wider age spans. If just beginning the series with students past third grade, you will probably want to begin with Book E. Books E through H can be used interchangeably for students in grades 4 through 8. These upper-level books offer interestingly-written, solid, Bible study—one of the most effective, yet relatively inexpensive options you'll find.

Although this series (books A through H) is designated only for use up through seventh grade, the books do not show grade levels, and you might use some from the end of the series beyond seventh grade. They are particularly useful for students who have not done any significant amount of Bible study. While they might be too elementary for some students, Books E through H are interestingly-written, solid Bible study for students who need to build a foundation.

Pricing Information

When comparison prices appear, please keep in mind that they are subject to change. Click on links where available to verify price accuracy.

Studying God' s Word: Exploring the Truths of the Old Testament for the Young Reader, Book C

Studying God

Studying God's Word Level C Teacher's Manual, Grad

Studying God

Studying God's Word: Book G, Teacher's Manual Grad

Studying God

Studying God's Word Level F, Teacher's Manual, Gra

Studying God
Get a FREE subscription to Cathy's E-Newsletter

My Lists

Save reviews to lists to guide curriculum choices. Register or log in to start your first list.

Publisher's Info

Note: Publishers, authors, and service providers never pay to be reviewed. They do provide free review copies or online access to programs for review purposes.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services that I believe will add value to my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guidelines Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."