Stories of the Nations and Stories of America

Stories of the Nations and Stories of America

Stories of the Nations, Volume 1 and Volume 2 are based on The Child’s Story of the Nations by Charles Morris that was published in 1901. Stories of America, Volumes 1 and 2 are based on The Child's Story of America by Charles Morris. Lorene Lambert and Sonya Shafer have updated and expanded the original books into two volumes for each series, all the time maintaining the same delightful voice as the original author.

Each volume is a collection of stories. Stories of the Nations are from around the world—stories of kings and queens, explorers and conquerors, scientists and writers, and landmark events. Stories of America are about Native Americans, explorers, settlers, the creation of some of the states, presidents, inventions, discoveries, and wars. Stories are based on historical facts, although the stories are sometimes embellished with thoughts or feelings attributed to historical characters. Each book has a few full-color maps at the back for easy reference.

All four volumes serve well for those using a story-based approach to history. Coverage is necessarily selective, so it is helpful to have children create a timeline so they can see events in relation to one another over time.

The stories will probably engage the interest of all ages, although I think they are best for children between ages six and ten. This example from a story about Queen Elizabeth I of England gives you an idea of the engaging writing style.

Being a king or a queen can certainly seem like a job anyone would wish for. Indeed, who would not want to live in a beautiful castle, wear fine clothes, hold fancy banquets, and give orders to bowing servants? But being a king or a queen is not a simple task. Kings and queens have much to care about. If he is to be a good ruler, a king must consider what his people need and do all he can to help them and protect them (Stories of the Nations, Volume 1, page 19).

Stories of the Nations, Volume 1: From The Ottomans to Garibaldi (1550-1850), begins shortly after the discovery of the Americas at the height of the period of exploration. In the book’s 27 stories we learn about the Ottoman empire, Francis Drake, William Shakespeare, Cardinal Richelieu, the rise of the Qing Dynasty in China, Peter the Great of Russia, Captain Cook, Simon Bolivar, the Boer settlement in Africa, Napoleon’s conquests, Stanley and Livingston’s exploration of Africa, and many more. The stories range widely in both time and location.

Stories of the Nations, Volume 2: From Count Bismarck to Queen Elizabeth II (1850-2012) features stories about people and events such as Otto von Bismarck, Alfred Nobel, Marie Curie, World War I, the Lusitania, the Russian revolution, the Great Depression, World War II, the modern creation of Israel in 1948, and the Kon-Tiki expedition, discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls, the  launch of Sputnik, the fall of the Berlin Wall, and construction of the Chunnel between France and England.

stories of america2Stories of America, Volume 1: From Columbus to the Alamo (1492—1850) features both stories and poems. Subjects of the stories include Christopher Columbus, Native Americans, Captain John Smith, Pocahontas, the pilgrims, the Quakers, the French and Indian War, the Revolutionary War, Paul Revere, John Paul Jones, George Washington, the invention of the steamboat and the cotton gin, and the battle at the Alamo. Among the poems included are “The Landing of the Pilgrim Fathers” by F. D. Hemans and “Paul Revere’s Ride” by H. W. Longfellow.

Stories of America, Volume 2: From The Oregon Trail to the Present Day (1850-2012) continues with stories of the Oregon Trail, the Gold Rush, slavery, Abraham Lincoln, the Civil War, General Custer, Alexander Graham Bell, Booker T. Washington, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, The Spanish-American War, Theodore Roosevelt, Henry Ford, Ellis Island, World Wars I and II, the end of the Cold War, the War on Terror, the Information Age, and more. Some of the featured poems are “The New Colossus” by Emma Lazarus and “The Flag Goes By” by Henry Holcomb Bennett.

Stories of the Nations and Stories of America are the sort of living books that should serve well for homeschoolers who want to follow Charlotte Mason’s approach to learning. To make that even easier, you might want to use the Narration Notecards for each volume of Stories of the Nations and Stories of America. These are sets of notecards with narration prompts to suit children in first grade through high school on one side and key people, places, dates, and vocabulary words on the reverse side. All four books, as well as the Narration Notecards, are available as either printed products or PDF files.

Using books such as Stories of the Nations and Stories of America within more comprehensive studies makes it easier to fill gaps in an orderly fashion since the comprehensive study usually recommends appropriate books on other topics that need to be covered. Simply Charlotte Mason, the publisher of these books, recommends that Volume 1 of both series be used along with their comprehensive history course Early Modern and Epistles that covers 1550 to 1850, and Volume 2 of both books can be used with their course Modern and Epistles, Revelation that covers from 1850 to 2012. Of course, the books and Narration Notecards can also be used with your self-designed program or along with other Charlotte Mason style programs.

Pricing Information

All prices are provided for comparison only and are subject to change. Click on prices to verify their accuracy.

Stories of the Nations: Vol. 1: print - $16.95, PDF - $11.95; Vol. 2: print - $17.95, PDF - $12.95
Stories of America: Vol. 1: print - $16.95, PDF - $11.95; Vol. 2: print - $17.95, PDF - $12.95
Narration Notecards: print - $9.95 each, PDF - $7.95 each

Get a FREE subscription to Cathy's E-Newsletter Sign Up today!

My Lists

Save reviews to lists to guide curriculum choices. Register or log in to start your first list.

Instant Key

  • Need For Parent/Teacher Instruction: varies
  • Grade Level: grades 1-5
  • Suitable For: all situations
  • Religious Perspective: secular
  • Educational Approaches: Charlotte Mason, unit study, unschooling or relaxed homeschooling
  • Educational Methods: stories
  • Technology: PDF

Publisher's Info

Note: Publishers, authors, and service providers never pay to be reviewed. They do provide free review copies or online access to programs for review purposes.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the post above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services that I believe will add value to my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guidelines Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."